vegan mofo: sickness spreading

October 17, 2011 at 8:13 pm 1 comment

I have a cold. Again. The second in as many months, and guess what? DO NOT LIKE.

So I haven’t been cooking, but I did manage to stumble upon some old food photos of things I’ve made in the past and never blogged about. I don’t remember many details, but there are a couple yummy looking things here! I’ll start with the crappier photos and work my way up.

Chocolate Raspberry Cake with Chocolate Ganache
I know those are fresh raspberries and chocolate ganache double layered on top of this cake, so I’m guessing it was the chocolate raspberry blackout cake from Vegan with a Vengeance. And yes, I only have ONE cake plate, ok? Don’t ask me why I took this picture of the cake in the refrigerator.

soba noodles and veggies

I think these are soba noodles with a light peanut dressing topped with cucumbers, roasted broccoli, cilantro and toasted sesame seeds.

sesame seeds, roasted broccoli, cilantro
Here are some of the toppings set up in a really nice arrangement. I don’t remember taking this picture, but I really like it. Really!

carrot soup

Lastly, here’s a creamy carrot, coconut milk, and ginger soup topped with cilantro. Mmmm, pretty!

Tomorrow, a very veg friendly restaurant here in San Diego (The Local Habit) is having a 5 course all vegetarian or vegan brewmaster’s dinner. Gotta go rest up so I’m all better for it! I’m going no matter how I feel though, you better believe it. Here’s what it says on the RSVP about it:

“Join us for this unique food and beer experience as Local Habit Chef Nick Brune and Black Market Brewing Head Brewer Ryan Brooks collaborate to bring you five delicious courses of farm fresh vegetarian/vegan food paired with five craft beers from this up and coming Temecula brewer.

First Course: Corn Pudding with Creole Trinity paired with Bavarian Hefeweizen

Second Course: Caramelized Onion & Tomato Tart paired with Saison with Coriander & Juniper Berries (cask)

Third Course: Truffled Potato Pot Pie with Carrot, Peas & Garlic paired with Anglo-American Brown Ale

Fourth Course: Roasted Mushrooms with Allspice & Nutmeg over Homemade Buckwheat Noodles paired with Rye IPA

Fifth Course: Yam Sweet Potato Tart with Agave Caramel paired with Imperial Porter (cask)”

I’m most excited about the Corn Pudding, but everything sounds so awesome. EEP!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

vegan mofo: a chickpea is neither a chick, nor a pea vegan mofo: tofu tikka masala, roasted indian spiced veggies

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Paula  |  October 18, 2011 at 2:00 am

    whoa. that sounds super yum, sis! enjoy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

