Getting in the habit

October 21, 2008 at 6:25 pm 3 comments

I’ve been eating some really good food lately, and as a result I’ve decided to start this blog. I’m sure I’ll be writing about plenty of other things besides food, but for now I’ll be joining the ranks of all the other VeganMoFo writers! (Including my sister, the Semi-Circular Vegan.)

To start, avocados have been on sale recently! This allows me to make discoveries like Baked Potato with Garlic Earth Balance and mashed Avocado. Simple, not exactly healthy, but sooooo so good. Unfortunately I ate this last week (two days in a row, actually) so no pictures. In fact, the pictures won’t show up till next time when I actually remember to get my camera out.

Last night’s dinner started with a delicious salad of half an avocado, arugala, candied pecans and a simple dressing of white balsamic vinegar, macademia nut oil (I have to thank my friend in Hawaii for that!) and salt and pepper. It was almost a meal in itself when I threw some grilled tofu on top (grilled with the same oil.)

Second course consisted of garlic fries from Trader Joes mixed with some dark greens – collards, mustard, etc. I have the leftovers for lunch today…can’t wait!

Entry filed under: dinner. Tags: .

this is where pie goes to die

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Paula  |  October 21, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    yay sisty!

    i love it! and i want those garlic fries with greens when I come home!

    Reply
  • 2. Ambie  |  October 23, 2008 at 8:23 am

    Shmeeps! When I was talking to you the other night, I forgot to tell you that Lonnie now eats avocados!!! He was going to order this thing without avocado and I told him it was on the side and he could just give it to me, but then he decided to try it and he liked it. He’s even had it a few times since then! Guacamole is next on the list…

    Reply
  • 3. shmeeps  |  October 23, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    yay, awesome! what did he order? i remember the first thing i ordered where i loved the avocado…it was tortilla soup! mmm.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories