chili con carne-soya and freeze tag

October 24, 2008 at 1:57 am 2 comments

I’m so glad we got the b-fri’s camera working, because this chili deserves to have its picture taken!

Last night I brought out The Vegetarian Family Cookbook by Nava Atlas so I could use her simple and tasty chili recipe as a base for the beauty you see below these words. You’ll also notice some PPK cornbread lurking in the background, which I’ve been craving for a while. If I had actually taken the pictures when we  made it, the bowl would have been adorned with some perfectly ripe avocado slices as well.

What are all those chunks doing in your chili, you ask? Making it tasty, that’s what! After reading some different recipes, I decided that adding potatoes for a starchy richness would be an excellent idea.  Zucchini, red beans (the store was all out of kidney) and black beans went into the mix as well, along with some Boca soy crumbles. This foodstuff was really enhanced by the tanginess of lime and freshness of cilantro at the end.

The cornbread is great with some whipped Earth Balance and dipped into the chili, but by itself it’s just OK, due to my having over-baked it in our not so hot oven. I think I overcompensated!

Next, I’m excited to say I got tagged by my sister to display and list the contents of my freezer. Unfortunately I don’t really know anyone else who blogs, so this length of chain will have to end here:

The contents:

Various bags of fruit
Peas, corn and artichokes
Soy meatless meatballs
Mostly eaten mango sorbet
A mostly empty ice tray
Frozen bananas (with which I fully intend on making VCon Banana Chocolate Chip Bread Pudding with!!)
Some leftover AMAZING tomato sauce (my mom’s recipe)
Ganache (still good, months after I made it), and
Some not so good Amy’s Texas Burger patties (the texture is a little too wheat-gluten-y for my taste)

Last note:
I have to thank Mikey, the aforementioned b-fri, for helping with the chili (especially when he went out after we had gone shopping to get me an onion), and for using his incredible strength to get the over-baked cornbread out of the pan.

Entry filed under: dinner, Uncategorized. Tags: .

this is where pie goes to die using up the fridge – gourmet style

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Paula  |  October 24, 2008 at 3:09 am

    yay! it all looks great! good pics too. Next time you cook for me I won’t tell you to add salt to your guacamole and you don’t get to add sugar to my tomato sauce ok? ok.

    Reply
  • 2. shmeeps  |  October 24, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    thanks 🙂
    mikey took the food pic!
    yeah, let’s not add anything to anything.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


