using up the fridge – gourmet style

October 28, 2008 at 5:04 pm 6 comments

The good thing about not spending money on anything except food is that when you decide to use up what’s left in your fridge, you’re likely to find some pretty choice ingredients. Friday was such a night for me, and I managed to whip up quite a meal.

All I had to buy specifically for this were a couple of French rolls, which served us well!

First I piled on some sundried tomato bruschetta topping and Tuscan Italian Dressing from Trader Joe’s, then added Tofurkey, arugala and cherry tomatoes (cut in half). The “side” is just roasted green beans and more cherry tomatoes, and underneath that some thinly sliced yukon gold potatoes pan fried with olive oil and garlic.

I hate to admit I got the green beans and tomatoes idea from Rachel Ray, but alas it is true. Sometimes she has really good and easy side dishes, ok?!

As if that wasn’t enough for the night, my craving for dessert overpowered me. I had most of the ingredients needed for chocolate chip cookies from Vegan with a Vengeance, so I modified it slightly and made chocolate chip almond cookies instead. I think they might be the best cookies I’ve ever made, so I’ve deemed them evil (I ate 4 a day!) and will never make them again…except as gifts maybe. Or you know…if I want to. Recipe follows the picture:

Chocolate chip almond cookies (basically from VwaV)

1 cup margarine, at room temp (I used Earthbalance, which is salty already, so I didn’t add extra salt)
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar (didn’t have molasses)
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 teaspoons almond extract
1-2 tablespoons soymilk (I added because my mixture seemed a bit dry without the molasses)
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. (My oven sucks, so I put it up to 375)

Cream the margarine and sugar with a hand mixer until fluffy. Add the vanilla and almond extracts and incorporate. Add the dry ingredients to this mixture and mix until a dough forms. Mix in soymilk if necessary. Fold the chocolate chips into the dough.

Roll dough into 1 inch balls or drop by tablespoons onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes until mildly browned (again, because of my oven suckage, I baked for about 13 minutes and they came out perfectly). Allow the cookies to cool on the baking sheets for 5 minutes.

Eat with soymilk, they are even better dipped! The only change I might make next time would be adding less regular sugar, as they were a little on the sweet side. Obviously that didn’t matter much…the recipe makes 3 dozen cookies and they didn’t survive the weekend. Oy!

Entry filed under: dessert, dinner.

chili con carne-soya and freeze tag totally tops ramen

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Paula  |  October 28, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    uhhh those cookies look insane.

    make me cookies when i come home next week. pwease?

    Reply
  • 2. grimblez  |  October 28, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    That sandwich…I haven’t had lunch yet, why are you doing this to me?

    Reply
  • 3. shmeeps  |  October 28, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    yesm! someone just brought up that “those cookies look good, but they don’t have any jam” haha

    how about…those cookies with no chocolate chips, make them into little jam sandwiches?

    Reply
  • 4. Mike  |  October 28, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    God, why did I just look at your blog. Now I’m just depressed all the cookies are gone…

    waaaaaaaah….

    Reply
  • 5. Rowan  |  October 29, 2008 at 12:23 am

    Schmeeps, that sandwich looks delish. Great presentation and photography, too.

    Keep it up, I might be inspired to return to Vegetarianism!

    Reply
  • 6. Spence  |  November 24, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    I might actually go vegan if the sandwiches are all as good as this one looks. Nothing can’t be made better by putting it between two slices of bread.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


