making up for lost protein

November 5, 2008 at 7:30 pm 4 comments

This weekend we went up to San Luis Obispo to see an Opera Mike’s sister, Angela Cadelago was in. She played the lead in the Marriage of Figaro really beautifully! If you get a chance, see something she’s in; she performs all around California and sometimes elsewhere in the country.

Since Mike’s whole family came to see the Opera we ended up eating at a couple of places that hardly had anything for me to eat. In fact, there were no options with any sort of protein in them. So here’s what I ate Saturday and Sunday morning:

A smoothie, trail mix and a roll for breakfast/lunch,
An avocado, sprout, lettuce and tomato sandwich and a huge basket of fries for dinner,
and a huge plate of home fries and fruit for breakfast the next morning.

As you can see, I managed ok, but I was really looking forward to making up for the lack of a complete nutritional meal by eating somewhere good for dinner on Sunday. Let me tell you, I am one lucky girl! Sunday evening we ended up in LA, 15 minutes away from Madeleine Vegan Bistro – a fancy and expensive, but oh so delicious eatery. I’d been there once before for brunch and was excited for the next time I could come back.

The highlight of both meals was this appetizer:

beettartare

Not a great picture, but don’t let that turn you off of the deliciousness! The menu description is as follows: Red beet tartare
Warm tofu cheese crouton, English cucumber, balsamic glace

The “warm tofu cheese crouton” actually tastes like lightly breaded and panfried goat cheese! I could probably eat twenty of them in a row and still crave more the next day. All the flavors went perfectly together.

Our four (yes 4!) course meal

Appetizers:
French onion soup (with croutons and soy cheese)

Red beet tartare/Mac and Cheese
– The cheese sauce was the perfect texture/consistency, though the flavors left something to be desired. Definitely a nice try at the comfort food!

Main courses:
Grilled lemon-rosemary seitan
Asparagus crepe, zucchini sauté, brown rice cake, lemon-rosemary vinaigrette

Thanksgiving Preview
Chicken fried seitan, mashed potatoes, gravy, cranberry relish, coconut yams, stuffing, brussel sprouts

(I should mention their homemade seitan might not be to everyone’s liking. Though the flavor is delicious, the texture is on the spongier side, which I happen to love)

Dessert:
Bananas foster split
Vanilla ice crème, hot fudge, caramel, whipped crème

(Those with nut allergies beware – the ice cream and whipped crème are cashew based.
They also have a perfectly executed chocolate souffle, but I had that last time so I decided to try something different…)

My mouth is watering writing this. I wanna go again! (and again and again…)

Entry filed under: breakfast, dinner, lunch.

the perils of cooking while hungry (with tasty results!) a fancy meal of my own

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Paula  |  November 5, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    zomg, sis! this all sounds and looks soooo good! I must eat here some day!

    Reply
  • 2. Diane  |  November 7, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    Hi Eve, Congrats on your blog! It’s great!

    Reply
  • 3. Haley  |  November 9, 2008 at 2:56 am

    I am really jealous, what a delicious sounding menu! (I write this as my Amy’s pot pie is heating up in the oven 😦

    Reply
  • 4. vegcutie  |  December 8, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    that menu sounds amazing

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


