soup-in-bowl sunday

January 19, 2009 at 4:54 pm 3 comments

Ok, so the title is stretching it a little bit, especially since I’m writing this on a Monday, but I couldn’t resist.

I love soup. I really love soup when the weather is cold and makes your body cry out for it, wanting to be warmed from the inside out for every meal. Living in San Diego can make that difficult when it may technically be winter, but you walk outside into a dry 80 degrees instead of what should be at least low 60s. Come on, southern California!

Anyway, I don’t let that phase me. I make soup no matter what. Usually it’s an amazing lentil that I adapted from this Giada DeLaurentis recipe where I exchange chicken broth for veggie, and add red wine and cilantro, but lately I’ve been experimenting more. Straight from Veganomicon I cooked up a HUGE batch of Tomato Rice with Roasted Garlic and Navy Bean, which you can find the recipe for here and a picture of here.

I guess I must really like tomato soup, because I also created this little beauty of a tomato bisque:

tomato bisque

Sprinkled on top you’ll see some toasted pumpkin seeds, a sprig of parsley, and hiding in the depths? A large spoonful of olive tapenade to cut the sweetness. This recipe was adapted from here (with soy creamer instead of yogurt), but the next soup was all my own invention. I like to call it Broccolini Bean.

rapini soup!

kitchen soup

Since this is really more of an “everything but the kitchen sink” soup (and has rapini, not broccolini in it), I can’t remember the exact recipe. It does have your basic mirepoix, vegetable broth, cannelini beans, rapini, and lots of garlic, but how all those things got mixed into the pot…your guess is as good as mine! It was delicious, hearty, and comforting –  that’s all I need to remember.

Entry filed under: dinner, lunch, soup.

wrinkled in time snickers and doodles

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Paula  |  January 19, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    YUM! Those all look really good! That bisque is so pretty!

    Reply
  • 2. Sophie  |  January 19, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    mmm those look delicious. perfect for a cold winter day.

    Reply
  • 3. Mike  |  January 22, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    So tasty! You should make more! It was kind of overcast for a couple hours yesterday, that’s close enough to soup weather for San Diego.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


