the many ways of frozen bananas

October 2, 2009 at 6:36 am 2 comments

Let’s face it: monkeys know their fruit. But unless there are snow monkeys that somehow store tropical bananas in the winter, monkeys don’t got it all, folks!

I’ve spoken before of how I love bananas with peanut butter on toast or in bread pudding, but never about how awesome they are frozen. Baking sweet things with thawed frozen bananas is kind of a lifesaver when you want something sweet and healthful in a pinch (thawing them makes them mega mushy and easy to mash). Or not healthful…for instance:

These chocolate chip banana pancakes from Vegan with a Vengeance are super fast and make an awesome brunch with a glass of cold soymilk. No syrup necessary!
banana chocolate chip pancakes

This banana bread satisfied a craving of mine recently. I hadn’t eaten dessert for almost a month (after a total sugar overload during a visit to New York), and this was just a little stepping stone to getting back on the sugar horse, though I haven’t been eating it too often since. You can find great pictures and an alternate recipe here, though I pretty much stuck to the original.

My tweaks:

1. I didn’t have any applesauce, so I used a bit more banana and a little soymilk.
2. Ok, I used a lot more banana. I like my banana bread almost pudding-y!
3. Used a bit less than the 1/2 cup of sugar since the bananas are so sweet already.
4. Used half whole wheat and half all-purpose flour.

Mm mm good. And don’t forget, frozen bananas can be blended with peanut butter and non-dairy milk to make an amazing protein shake, too.

It saddens me to imagine what life would be like if monkeys were strictly carnivorous, so I guess I’ll save my imagination for something else!

Entry filed under: breakfast, dessert. Tags: , , , , , .

sing a song of marsa la la la a bit about me

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jojo  |  October 3, 2009 at 7:58 am

    Those look seriously awesome, I think I know what I’ll be having for breakfast now!

    Reply
  • 2. Susan  |  October 3, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    I must make those pancakes! I am not a big eater of bananas, but I love to use them in baking and pancakes and ice-cream! Unfortunately the rest of my family munches through them so quickly that I hardly ever have any nice and smooshy ones to mash!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


