vegan mofo ’09: the mac and “cheese” crave

October 6, 2009 at 11:18 pm 8 comments

I have a secret to tell the non-vegans reading this blog: a lot of vegans still crave very NOT vegan things. Shhhhhh! We’re always striving to create or find substitutes for the things we miss.  Some are lucky and forget their old eating habits, but not me! I was practically a cheese connoisseur before taking the plunge.

And it didn’t get any better than my mom’s mac and cheese, so of course I’ve always wanted to find a suitable veganized version. Please don’t get mad, but this vegan don’t like no nutritional yeast, and every recipe I came across had an unfortunate amount included in the recipe list. I’ve never understood the claim that “nooch” makes things taste “cheez-y.” Any amount of the stuff, even a pinch, becomes the most prominent flavor to me. You know how it is…when you don’t like something it becomes the strongest flavor? (Another ingredient like that for me is celery, but I won’t get into that now.)

Anyway, you can imagine my excitement and surprise when VegNews posted this recipe. No nutritional yeast in sight! I’ve made it a few times, once with only a third of the earth balance where I replaced the rest with olive oil, and every time has been better than the last. Boy do I wish starch was really healthy to eat a lot of all the time.  Now feast your eyes, then go make it for dinner!

vegan mac and cheese

Entry filed under: dinner, lunch. Tags: , , .

a bit about me vegan mofo ’09: easy brunch

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kim g.  |  October 6, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    I’ve read so many good things about that recipe – I have to get around to making it!

    Reply
  • 2. Laura Jill Steinig  |  October 7, 2009 at 12:23 am

    Mmmmmmm! Looks good! I’m always on a quest for good vegan mac and cheese–I bookmarked the recipe! I also like the one in Skinny Bitch in the Kitch–it tastes good, but I don’t love the use of the unnatural faux cheeses–so this one will be a great change!

    Reply
  • 3. Mike  |  October 7, 2009 at 1:12 am

    I can vouch that this one tastes even better than it looks! The genius of it is that it doesn’t try to be cheese. Just a rich, creamy sauce that happens to share a lot of the same properties as cheese sauce.

    Love it!

    Reply
  • 4. Amber  |  October 7, 2009 at 3:10 am

    Shmeeps! I too have heard so much about this recipe. Thanks for posting about it and reminding me. I gotta try it!

    Reply
  • 5. Melisser  |  October 7, 2009 at 7:33 am

    Ooh, looks yummy! I can’t say I get many non-veg cravings though.. weird!

    Reply
  • 6. Bonnie  |  October 7, 2009 at 9:46 am

    That recipe is delicious!
    I like nooch only in some things, mostly tofu scramble. It doesn’t really remind me of cheese that much, either…

    Reply
  • 7. karmalily  |  October 7, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    I hadn’t come across that recipe before. I’ve never seen a mac n cheese recipe with potatoes in it. From the picture and the comments before me I think I might have to try this to see just how good it really is!

    Reply
  • 8. Clare  |  October 7, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    Going on my list! I’m not a nutritional yeast fan either.

    And your picture is great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


