v-mo ’09: may quiche be with you

October 9, 2009 at 6:00 am 2 comments

The title is a little much, I know, but this caramelized vidalia onion quiche from Vegan Brunch is so good I want the world to know; even if it takes a cheesy title to make people notice.

I’ll admit now though, I made the crust from Vegan Brunch without doing any research about it first.

The bad: there was a misprint in the crust recipe, which left me using A WHOLE LOT of earth balance. I’ve never made my own crust before however, so I assumed once I let the uncooked dough refrigerate for a while the gooey-ness would be taken care of.  I was wrong!

The bad/good: Again because I’d never made crust, I decided to use my hands instead of a pastry knife to mix, which inevitably lead me to add more flour, and again add more flour when I was rolling it out, so it baked up just fine.

The absolute good: the crust was so buttery and rich and flaky (and a bit crumbly) it couldn’t NOT have been delicious.

The picture below shows some fresh steamed broccoli alongside the quiche, perfect for cutting the richness. The cashews processed in with the tofu and onion made the perfect texture, and the cinnamon I substituted for the nutmeg (never been a nutmeg fan, really) complimented the sweetness of the onions beautifully. Next time I’ll add less cinnamon though, I kinda dumped a full teaspoon in by accident. Oops.

Just goes to show though, if you’re making something with ingredients you love, it’s hard to screw up.

quiche

Entry filed under: breakfast, dinner, lunch. Tags: , , , .

v-mo ’09: alotta fajitas v-mo ’09: small meals

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jeni treehugger  |  October 9, 2009 at 9:54 am

    That looks wonderful! And I’m happy the pastry came out awesome in the end. I’m a bit of a pro pastry maker, my mum taught me at such an early age and because I’m so familiar with it I forget how it can be a bit daunting to some people. But it is very forgiving stuff as I’m happy you found out.
    🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Geeky White Girl Joan  |  October 9, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    I love that Quiche. I think I was the original reporter of the recipe error on the PPk. I did the same as you..just added more flour and eventually la-voila!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


