v-mo ’09: the loving (and loved!) hut

October 14, 2009 at 8:16 pm 4 comments

The other day I had no energy for grocery shopping or cooking, so we got out our recently created restaurant spreadsheet (this is the best thing ever; I don’t care how nerdy it is!) and sorted by price range since we wanted something cheap (we can also sort by distance and ethnicity, and we’ll probably add a personal rating system in there, too).

The winner? The Loving Hut, an all vegan Asian fusion (cultish, but not freakish) restaurant only a couple miles away. When this place first opened we lived about 5 blocks away, which was really awesome, but also bad. Any inkling of laziness and we’d be calling in our order or taking a quick walk/ride over. We moved recently, and I’ve been cooking more, so now eating out is more of a treat, and a better cheap treat we couldn’t ask for.

loving-hut-soup
The weather was finally a bit chillier that day, so the b-fri said “bring on the soup!” (Ok, I’m sure he didn’t say those words exactly, but that was the vibe I got.) Pictured above you see a huge bowl of wonton soup with tons of lovely veggies and TONS of wontons. The price? 6 bucks!

loving-hut-bowl
Next we have my favorite, the BBQ noodle bowl. Thee most amazing beef-like seitan, rice vermicelli, mint, lettuce, cucumber, pickled radish, and do you see those golden fried cylinders there? Those are by far the best bestest fried spring rolls I’ve ever had. I think they put crack in them, or maybe they lie about using no MSG. And then when you pour that sauce over everything…PURE HEAVEN. I’m really full right now and my mouth is watering. Oh, how much you ask? ONLY SIX FITTY! ($6.50). I don’t know how they do it, but whatever it is I love them for it.

Lastly, here’s a bonus picture of me with the food before the mouth-shoveling began. I had to keep my fist in there while I waited for the picture to be taken, otherwise my face would have been in the bowl.

loving-hut-me

Entry filed under: dinner, lunch. Tags: , , , , .

v-mo ’09: small meals v-mo ’09: hodgepodge

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. shmeeps  |  October 14, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    pay no attention to the man behind the girl.

    Reply
  • 2. Mo  |  October 14, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    Ah! That wonton soup looks amazing!

    Reply
  • 3. lazysmurf  |  October 14, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    omg I want that, right now!

    Reply
  • 4. Jojo  |  October 15, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    That soup looks amazing, I’m kinda glad it’s finally cold enough to be able to enjoy soup properly again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


