v-mo ’09: hodgepodge

October 15, 2009 at 4:52 am 1 comment

I was in Napa Valley the other weekend for a couple combined in-lawish birthday celebrations. While no one in the family is vegan, a couple are cutting dairy out of their diets for health reasons, so I was asked for tips on making soy ice cream! The b-fri’s mom has a big beautiful ice cream maker, and I had access to the best soy ice cream blog ever: http://veganicecream.blogspot.com/.  I said I would not only give tips, but I would make it myself!

There were a couple of hitches:
1. No arrowroot in the house. I used cornstarch instead.
2. A couple family members were also trying to cut out sugar, or at least cut down on it. They suggested adding splenda instead of sugar to the mix, but since we were using mostly Hazelnut Soy Delicious creamer (and some So Delicious coconut creamer), I decided that rather than adding fake sugar (which really puts me off), I wouldn’t add any, figuring if the ice cream wasn’t sweet enough people could add their own. I was fairly certain I would have no problem without adding any.

It turned out delicious, if even a bit too sweet for my tastes! The texture was perfect. I was also lucky enough to get some vegan brownie from Whole Foods to go along with it (while everyone else ate very not vegan Tiramisu cake). Terrible cell phone picture follows:

brownie-soycream
That night I was also able to try out Amy’s Rice Crust Vegan Spinach Pizza, which I would never buy myself (it’s so expensive!) but was happy to have for dinner there. It was a lot tastier than I expected, actually, even after I left it under the broiler for a bit too long. And really, who doesn’ t like a bit of burnt soy cheese now and then?!

Oh I should also mention the sandwich I had for lunch today from Whole Foods (I don’t usually splurge there, but the sandwiches are HUGE and very tasty and reasonably priced, especially since I split it.)

Anyway, we opted for sourdough with dijon, olive spread, grilled veggies, pickles, lettuce, tomato, pepper, and the curried eggless tofu salad, which is my favorite tofu salad no question. Let’s just say I will be getting this exact sandwich every time I go there for lunch now, since they started using Daiya cheese on their vegan pizza. Boo, but yay.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

v-mo ’09: the loving (and loved!) hut v-mo ’09: the birth of seitan

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Angela  |  October 17, 2009 at 4:22 am

    Amen……I am still dreaming about that ice cream. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


