v-mo ’09: seitan update

October 16, 2009 at 11:59 am 1 comment

I was going to post my own “Food Network Friday” type entry tonight, but I lost energy somewhere around 3pm, so I will have to save it for tomorrow. Substitution Saturday maybe?

Speaking of substitutions…I tried the seitan I made last night tonight. I don’t think I marinated it enough though…I grilled it on my grill pan, and the really crispy dark brown bits were tasty, but the rest of the bits, I’m sad to say, weren’t up my alley. The flavor of the plain seitan was not what I was expecting, I suppose.

Please give me suggestions! I would be ever so grateful.

I also tried my hand at a well known vegan alfredo sauce made with silken tofu, but alas, I found that lacking as well. It tasted too much like the silken tofu! I guess my tongue has a penchant for tasting my least favorite flavor the most, and ignoring the yummy flavors all around it. I do think I can tweak it by adding more stuff to cover up the silken tofu flavor, I’m just not sure what yet. It is very creamy though! If I ever make it again, I might just leave out the tofu altogether. As the French say, Le sigh! Not a great night for cooking experiments.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

v-mo ’09: the birth of seitan v-mo ’09: substitution sunday?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Paula  |  October 18, 2009 at 5:27 am

    aw man! let me send you the recipe for the mustard crusted seitan in yellow rose recipes. I think adding more chickpea flour might have been a problem because I can always really taste it and i’m not that into the flavor of it, but try maybe poking some holes in it and marinating it over night. check out some of the marinades in veganomicon/vwav.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


