vegan mofo headstart: rice and beans and sausage, oh my

September 30, 2011 at 10:36 pm 3 comments

I’ll be out of town Saturday – Tuesday, so just in case I don’t get a chance to blog (really don’t think I will), I’m counting this as my second MoFo post. Accept it!

I’ve eaten Mexican-style food at least once a day for the past, oh, I don’t know, 5 days now, but somehow I don’t get sick of it! Here’s what I made for dinner that has also been my lunch this week (boy I really gotta start using a camera that’s NOT my phone):

beansricesausage
Brown rice, pinto beans, chipotle Field Roast sausage

Ingredients:
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 large onion, diced
1-2 teaspoons ground cumin
1-2 teaspoons chili powder
1 teaspoon dried oregano
2 Chipotle Field Roast sausage links, sliced
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 cups short grain brown rice (uncooked)
1 can diced tomatoes
1 small can roasted and chopped green chiles
5 cups water
1 vegan bouillon cube or equivalent
1 can pinto beans (or equivalent amount fresh cooked beans)
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
Heat oil over medium-high heat in a large pan, or in my case, dutch oven
Add onion, cook until translucent
Add salt, pepper, cumin, chili powder, and oregano, cook for about a minute
Add sausage, cook until crispy and browned on one or both sides
Add garlic, cook until soft (a minute or so)
Add rice, mix in and toast for a minute or two
Add tomatoes with juice and chiles, stir to deglaze pan
Add water and bouillon, bring to a low boil
Cook for 15 minutes
Add pinto beans with liquid
Cover pot, simmer for 45 minutes to an hour until most of the liquid is absorbed and the rice is cooked to your liking. Depending on how long you simmer, it will start off as a really thick stew, and over time become more of a creamy rice dish. If you’d rather have a dryer rice dish, add less water, and you should be good to go.

I topped each bowl with salsa since I had neither lime juice nor cilantro in the house, which I would have added otherwise. I used my favorite salsa in the whole world, locally made La Salsa Chilena. If you get a chance to try this stuff, DO IT!! For added nutrients, I’d throw in some greens or have salad or broccoli on the side next time.

Entry filed under: dinner, lunch.

vegan mofo head start: restaurant week! vegan mofo: rain!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amber  |  October 1, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    So simple and delicious! I think that’s why Mexican food is my fave. Growing up in San Diego probably has something to do with it too.

    Reply
  • 2. adriennefriend  |  October 4, 2011 at 12:13 am

    field roast chipotle chorizo is soooooooo good. just had my first taste today! put it in a vegan french cassoulette.

    Reply
  • 3. shmeeps  |  October 9, 2011 at 7:21 pm

    Isn’t it! Actually I love all their flavors. The apple sage is another favorite. Tastes GREAT on pizza especially. Mmmm.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


