vegan mofo bonus post: the cake is a truth!

October 10, 2011 at 5:57 am 8 comments

Two yummy cakes I’ve made over the past few months:

apricot buckle cake
Apricot buckle using apricots fresh off my tree in the mid summer month. Basic recipe by (edit) Terry Hope Romero or Isa Chandra Moskowitz.


Coconut cake with lemon curd filling and cream cheese frosting. Best cake I’ve ever made, hands down. This was the second year in a row I made it for my husband’s birthday, and it might just become a yearly tradition! If you want the recipe, just ask! The lemon curd is the real star. So tangy and refreshing! Luckily there is always some leftover to eat by itself.

Look at that. Two posts in one day! That’s some good making up for lost posts, man.

Entry filed under: dessert. Tags: .

vegan mofo: ubuntu? i hardly know you! vegan mofo: in which she shows off her nerdiness

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jeni Treehugger  |  October 10, 2011 at 6:56 am

    Beautiful cakes, just beautiful. Did you make your own lemon curd??

    Reply
    • 2. shmeeps  |  October 12, 2011 at 5:22 am

      I did make my own lemon curd, though I got the recipe online somewhere. I’ll find it and post the link!

      Reply
  • 3. Jojo  |  October 10, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    The apricot buckle looks amazing, I’ve never had a buckle & I love apricots!

    Reply
  • 4. Julie Lynn (@GFreeVeganFam)  |  October 10, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    Lovely. Though I think I gained some weight just looking. 😉

    Reply
    • 5. shmeeps  |  October 12, 2011 at 5:21 am

      Yeah, Julie…the buckle isn’t that bad, but that coconut cake…no skimping on the fat there!

      Reply
  • 6. Mandee  |  October 11, 2011 at 2:14 am

    The coconut cake looks especially good!

    Reply
  • 7. Paula  |  October 11, 2011 at 11:29 pm

    I think the buckle is a Terry recipe! and you should mention that it’s from the pie book that came out today(even though it’s a cake)

    Reply
  • 8. shmeeps  |  October 12, 2011 at 5:19 am

    Dangit, I’m always doing that! Gooo Terry! Also, everyone go buy Vegan Pie in the Sky: http://www.amazon.com/Vegan-Pie-Sky-Out-This-World/dp/0738212741 !!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


