vegan mofo: in which she shows off her nerdiness

October 12, 2011 at 7:34 am 5 comments

This is where I show you my “nerd’s eye view” and tell you how much I love spreadsheets. A lot!

Well, I do…and I have quite a few that are food related. One for restaurants I love and frequent (categorized by distance, price range, ethnicity), one for new restaurants I’d like to try, one for my grocery list, and one for meal planning!

I’ve been cooking a lot more lately, so I decided it would be awesome to have a spreadsheet with a few different categories to help me plan meals. I came up with four basic columns: Protein, Starch, Type of meal, and Ethnicity. I was basing this list off the assumption that I would have a CSA membership and could use whatever produce I had that week, and each week I could use a random number generator to select something from each category for each meal. Each!

My husband, also a huge nerd, was really into my idea, and took it even one step further. He decided to write a computer script for me that would generate 5 meals at a time, without using the same ingredient twice. Unfortunately I have yet to start getting a CSA box, but I have started planning and making meals! Here’s what the script chose for me for last week:

Some of these combinations sound pretty weird, I know, but I mostly use them as inspirational guidelines. For instance, my European baked dish ended up as Lentil Shepherd’s Pie using recipes from Appetite for Reduction, and my American Brunch became Chipotle Chili With Sweet Potatoes And Brussel Sprouts.

Over the next few days I’ll go through all the meals I came up with using my awesome spreadsheet/script, but in the meantime, here’s a soy-ginger-garlic broth based soup I made for my sick husband last week. (Finally started using a real camera again, hooray!)


Asian style soup for the sick – with broccoli, sesame seeds, toasted sesame oil, cilantro, green onions, and freshly cooked chickpeas! The broth is a mixture of fresh ginger, garlic, soy sauce, rice vinegar, veggie broth, and green onions, strained.

Entry filed under: dinner, soup. Tags: .

vegan mofo bonus post: the cake is a truth! vegan mofo: upside-down upside-down lentil shepard’s pie

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mandee  |  October 12, 2011 at 7:59 am

    Hee! I love that you created spreadsheets and that your husband created a program, awesome!

    Reply
  • 2. Paula  |  October 12, 2011 at 8:01 am

    that soup looks so good, sis! i wanna move closer so we can cook together! (I swear i’m not bossy in the kitchen anymore!)

    Reply
  • 3. coldandsleepy  |  October 12, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    Um, that’s brilliant. I love it!

    Reply
  • 4. ameyfm  |  October 13, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    LOVE the spreadsheet and script! what a clever way to seek out inspiration. now you need to somehow add a seasonal element to it!

    Reply
  • 5. corrinadarling  |  October 15, 2011 at 11:58 am

    i love everything about this, especially how nerdy it is!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


