vegan mofo: a chickpea is neither a chick, nor a pea

October 14, 2011 at 4:48 am Leave a comment

Next meal plan up: Mexican Chickpea Salad with Coconut Quinoa!

The dressing for this salad is OFF THE HEEZY, folks. Don’t skimp on the adobo, it makes the whole dish! The recipe (man her picture is so much nicer than mine!) calls for jicama, but I sadly couldn’t find any, so I used shaved (then chopped) carrots and cucumber, and LOTS of cilantro. I also doubled the recipe, but take it from me…unless you are a big eater, or are bringing this to a party, don’t double it. The dressing separated after a day and a half and started tasting funky. I really hate throwing food away, especially when it starts out so delicious! Oh, and for the dressing I used thawed frozen mango, a whole bag, which I figured amounted to about two large mangoes, hence the doubling.

The quinoa recipe is simple: 1 cup quinoa, 1 cup water, 1 cup coconut milk (I used lite), though I would recommend two cups lite coconut milk since the coconut flavor wasn’t very strong.

There is an intruder in this photo named Susu Watari, and though she seems to really love quinoa, I’d say it was more of a casual interest.

Mexican Chickpea Salad and Coconut Quinoa

Entry filed under: dinner, lunch. Tags: .

vegan mofo: upside-down upside-down lentil shepard’s pie vegan mofo: sickness spreading

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


