vegan mofo: slacktown

October 25, 2011 at 1:39 am Leave a comment

Yep, that’s right. I have been living in Slacktown. If you lived in Slacktown, too, I’d say “sue me!” but it’s just me here, crossing the border into Lesser Slackington.

Here are some terrible phone pictures from the fancy meal I had last week at Local Habit, accompanied by brief descriptions.

corn puddin
Corn pudding (more like a slab of slightly sweet polenta) topped with grilled onions, raw carrots, and a light dressing with some strong olive oil. It was tasty, but the olive oil actually overpowered the flavor of the pudding, so I was a bit disappointed in this one. The beer was a Bavarian Hefeweizen which was awesome.

caramelized onion tart with tomato

Caramelized onion tart with roasted garlic and fresh tomato. This was my favorite course of the night. The crust was flaky and tender, and all the flavors were very present. I’m a simple gal, so I like me some simple food. The beer was a fruity Saison, brewed specially for this dinner. Also pretty tasty!

potato pot pie
Truffled potato pot pie. Hard to go wrong with this one! Everyone I sat with liked this the most out of all the dishes. The beer was a brown ale, which went well with the pot pie.

By this point I was pretty tipsy, so…no picture of the fourth course – buckwheat noodles with roasted mushrooms, allspice, and roasted veggie broth. The beer paired with this one was a Rye IPA, less strong than your typical IPA, which I liked about it. The mushrooms were good, though I wasn’t a huge fan of the noodles. They had a bit of a plasticky after taste.

yam tart

I just barely managed to take this picture. This yam and sweet potato tart was another favorite of the night, though the agave caramel was kinda disappointing – more like sauce than caramel. The beer was a fantastic Imperial Porter…very chocolatey, coffee-ee, and all around delicious. That and the Hefeweizen were my favorite beers of the night.

All in all a great experience! Next time I hope they get a little more creative with the vegan options…add a little protein source here and there. They’ve got almond ricotta on their menu, so I know they can do it!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

vegan mofo: another week, another meal plan vegan mofo: spagheeetti romeeesco

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


